Council Members

Anthropology

William Honeychurch's picture William Honeychurch
Associate Professor of Anthropology
DUS, Archaeology

william.honeychurch@yale.edu
203-432-3676
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/william-honeychurch
Transregional, Mongolia
William Kelly's picture William Kelly
Professor of Anthropology and Sumitomo Professor of Japanese Studies, Emeritus

william.kelly@yale.edu
203-432-3688
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/william-w-kelly
Japan
Helen Siu's picture Helen Siu
Professor of Anthropology

helen.siu@yale.edu
203-432-3680
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/helen-siu
China, Transregional
Anne Underhill's picture Anne Underhill
Professor of Anthropology
Chair, Anthropology

anne.underhill@yale.edu
203-436-4258
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/anne-underhill
China, Transregional

Center for International & Professional Experience

Kelly McLaughlin's picture Kelly McLaughlin
Director, Study Abroad
Deputy Director of the Center for International and Professional Experience
Assistant Dean for Assessment

kelly.mclaughlin@yale.edu
203-432-8740
http://studyabroad.yale.edu/contact-connect/about-us
China, Japan, Korea, Transregional

Comparative Literature

Jing Tsu's picture Jing Tsu
John M. Schiff Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures and Comparative Literature
Chair, Council on East Asian Studies
DGS, Comparative Literature

jing.tsu@yale.edu
203-432-2861
http://eall.yale.edu/people/jing-tsu
China

Divinity School

Chloe Starr's picture Chloe Starr
Associate Professor of Asian Christianity and Theology
DGS, East Asian Studies

chloe.starr@yale.edu
203-432-1424
http://divinity.yale.edu/faculty-and-research/yds-faculty/chlo-starr
China, Transregional, Southeast Asia

East Asia Library–Sterling Memorial Library

Michael Meng's picture Michael Meng
Librarian for Chinese Studies

michael.meng@yale.edu
203-432-4438
http://guides.library.yale.edu/profile.php?uid=77595
China
Haruko Nakamura's picture Haruko Nakamura
Librarian for Japanese Studies

haruko.nakamura@yale.edu
203-432-1792
http://guides.library.yale.edu/profile.php?uid=4954
Japan
Jude Yang's picture Jude Yang
Librarian for Korean Studies
Public Services Librarian

jude.yang@yale.edu
203-432-1790
https://guides.library.yale.edu/prf.php?account_id=198389
Korea

East Asian Languages & Literatures

Lucas Bender's picture Lucas Bender
Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures

luke.bender@yale.edu
203-432-5823
http://eall.yale.edu/people/lucas-bender
China
Hsiu-hsien Chan's picture Hsiu-hsien Chan
Senior Lector

hsiu-hsien.chan@yale.edu
203-436-8126
http://eall.yale.edu/people/hsiu-hsien-chan
China
Kang-I Chang's picture Kang-I Chang
Malcolm G. Chace '56 Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
DGS, East Asian Languages & Literatures

kang-i.chang@yale.edu
203-432-2865
http://eall.yale.edu/people/kang-i-chang
China
Min Chen's picture Min Chen
Senior Lector

m.chen@yale.edu
203-436-8127
http://eall.yale.edu/people/min-chen
China
Seungja Choi's picture Seungja Choi
Senior Lector II

seungja.choi@yale.edu
203-432-2866
http://eall.yale.edu/people/seungja-choi
Korea
Aaron Gerow's picture Aaron Gerow
Professor of Film Studies and East Asian Languages & Literatures
Chair, East Asian Languages & Literatures

aaron.gerow@yale.edu
203-432-7082
http://eall.yale.edu/people/aaron-gerow
Japan
Michael Hunter's picture Michael Hunter
Associate Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
DUS, East Asian Languages & Literatures

mick.hunter@yale.edu
203-432-7529
http://eall.yale.edu/people/michael-hunter
China
Seth Jacobowitz's picture Seth Jacobowitz
Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures

seth.jacobowitz@yale.edu
203-432-9840
http://eall.yale.edu/people/seth-jacobowitz
Japan, Transregional
Edward Kamens's picture Edward Kamens
Sumitomo Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
On leave: AY 2019-2020
edward.kamens@yale.edu
203-432-2862
http://eall.yale.edu/people/edward-kamens
Japan
Angela Lee-Smith's picture Angela Lee-Smith
Senior Lector II

angela.lee-smith@yale.edu
203-432-4114
http://eall.yale.edu/people/angela-lee-smith
Korea
Rongzhen Li's picture Rongzhen Li
Senior Lector

rongzhen.li@yale.edu
203-432-2935
http://eall.yale.edu/people/rongzhen-li
China
Ninghui Liang's picture Ninghui Liang
Senior Lector

ninghui.liang@yale.edu
203-432-2939
http://eall.yale.edu/people/ninghui-liang
China
Hyun Sung Lim's picture Hyun Sung Lim
Lector

hyunsung.lim@yale.edu
https://eall.yale.edu/people/hyun-sung-lim
Korea
Pauline Lin's picture Pauline Lin
Senior Lecturer

pauline.lin@yale.edu
203-432-2938
http://eall.yale.edu/people/pauline-lin
China
Fan Liu's picture Fan Liu
Senior Lector

fan.liu@yale.edu
203-436-8124
http://eall.yale.edu/people/fan-liu
China
Tina Lu's picture Tina Lu
Colonel John Trumbull Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
Head of Pauli Murray College

tina.lu@yale.edu
203-432-2867
http://eall.yale.edu/people/tina-lu
China
Kumiko Nakamura's picture Kumiko Nakamura
Senior Lector

kumiko.nakamura@yale.edu
https://eall.yale.edu/people/kumiko-nakamura
Japan
Hiroyo Nishimura's picture Hiroyo Nishimura
Senior Lector

hiroyo.nishimura@yale.edu
203-432-2943
http://eall.yale.edu/people/hiroyo-nishimura
Japan
Jianhua Shen's picture Jianhua Shen
Senior Lector

jianhua.shen@yale.edu
203-432-1726
http://eall.yale.edu/people/jianhua-shen
China
Mari Stever's picture Mari Stever
Senior Lector

mari.stever@yale.edu
203-432-2941
http://eall.yale.edu/people/mari-stever
Japan
Wei Su's picture Wei Su
Senior Lector

wei.su@yale.edu
203-432-8448
http://eall.yale.edu/people/wei-su
China
Chuanmei Sun's picture Chuanmei Sun
Senior Lector

chuanmei.sun@yale.edu
203-436-8393
http://eall.yale.edu/people/chuanmei-sun
China
John Treat's picture John Treat
Professor Emeritus of East Asian Languages & Literatures

john.treat@yale.edu
203-432-2864
http://eall.yale.edu/people/john-treat
Japan, Korea, Transregional
Jing Tsu's picture Jing Tsu
John M. Schiff Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures and Comparative Literature
Chair, Council on East Asian Studies
DGS, Comparative Literature

jing.tsu@yale.edu
203-432-2861
http://eall.yale.edu/people/jing-tsu
China
Haiwen Wang's picture Haiwen Wang
Senior Lector

haiwen.wang@yale.edu
203-436-8125
http://eall.yale.edu/people/haiwen-wang
China
Yu-Lin Wang Saussy's picture Yu-Lin Wang Saussy
Senior Lector

yu-lin.saussy@yale.edu
203-432-8390
http://eall.yale.edu/people/yu-lin-saussy
China
Peisong Xu's picture Peisong Xu
Senior Lector

peisong.xu@yale.edu
203-432-8509
http://eall.yale.edu/people/peisong-xu
China
Mika Yamaguchi's picture Mika Yamaguchi
Senior Lector

mika.yamaguchi@yale.edu
https://eall.yale.edu/people/mika-yamaguchi
Japan
Yongtao Zhang's picture Yongtao Zhang
Senior Lector

yongtao.zhang@yale.edu
http://eall.yale.edu/people/yongtao-zhang
China
William Zhou's picture William Zhou
Senior Lector

william.zhou@yale.edu
203-432-8852
http://eall.yale.edu/people/william-zhou
China

Economics

Koichi Hamada's picture Koichi Hamada
Tuntex Emeritus Professor of Economics

koichi.hamada@yale.edu
203-432-3898
http://economics.yale.edu/people/koichi-hamada
Japan, Transregional

Film and Media Studies

Aaron Gerow's picture Aaron Gerow
Professor of Film Studies and East Asian Languages & Literatures
Chair, East Asian Languages & Literatures

aaron.gerow@yale.edu
203-432-7082
http://eall.yale.edu/people/aaron-gerow
Japan

Global Affairs

Odd Arne Westad's picture Odd Arne Westad
Elihu Professor of History and Global Affairs

arne.westad@yale.edu
https://history.yale.edu/people/odd-arne-westad
China, Transregional

History

Beatrice Bartlett's picture Beatrice Bartlett
Professor of History Emeritus

beatrice.bartlett@yale.edu
203-432-0230
http://history.yale.edu/people/beatrice-s-bartlett
China
Daniel Botsman's picture Daniel Botsman
Professor of History
On leave: Fall 2019
daniel.botsman@yale.edu
203-436-5209
http://history.yale.edu/people/daniel-botsman
Japan
Annping Chin's picture Annping Chin
Senior Lecturer in History, Retired

annping.chin@yale.edu
203-436-2514
http://history.yale.edu/people/annping-chin
China
Fabian Drixler's picture Fabian Drixler
Professor of History

fabian.drixler@yale.edu
203-432-1388
http://history.yale.edu/people/fabian-drixler
Japan
Valerie Hansen's picture Valerie Hansen
Stanley Woodward Professor of History

valerie.hansen@yale.edu
203-432-0480
http://history.yale.edu/people/valerie-hansen
China
Denise Ho's picture Denise Ho
Assistant Professor of History

denise.ho@yale.edu
203-436-9291
http://history.yale.edu/people/denise-ho
China
Peter C. Perdue's picture Peter C. Perdue
Professor of History
On leave: Spring 2020
peter.c.perdue@yale.edu
+1 (203) 432-6145
http://history.yale.edu/people/peter-c-perdue
China, Transregional
Jonathan Spence's picture Jonathan Spence
Sterling Professor of History Emeritus

jonathan.spence@yale.edu
203-432-0759
http://history.yale.edu/people/jonathan-spence
China
Conrad Totman's picture Conrad Totman
Professor of History Emeritus

conrad.totman@yale.edu
http://history.yale.edu/people/conrad-totman
Japan
Odd Arne Westad's picture Odd Arne Westad
Elihu Professor of History and Global Affairs

arne.westad@yale.edu
https://history.yale.edu/people/odd-arne-westad
China, Transregional

History of Art

Richard Barnhart's picture Richard Barnhart
John M. Schiff Professor Emeritus, History of Art

richard.barnhart@yale.edu
203-432-2667
http://arthistory.yale.edu/people/richard-barnhart
China
Quincy Ngan's picture Quincy Ngan
Assistant Professor, History of Art

quincy.ngan@yale.edu
https://arthistory.yale.edu/people/quincy-ngan
China
Mimi Yiengpruksawan's picture Mimi Yiengpruksawan
Professor, History of Art
DUS, East Asian Studies

mimi.yiengpruksawan@yale.edu
203-432-2682
http://arthistory.yale.edu/people/melanie-yiengpruksawan
Japan, Transregional

History of Science & Medicine

William Summers's picture William Summers
Professor Emeritus of Therapeutic Radiology, Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, and the History of Medicine

william.summers@yale.edu
203-432-5585
http://hshm.yale.edu/people/william-summers
China, Transregional

Political Science

Daniel Mattingly's picture Daniel Mattingly
Assistant Professor of Political Science
On leave: AY 2019-2020
daniel.mattingly@yale.edu
203-432-0280
http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/daniel-mattingly
China
Frances McCall Rosenbluth's picture Frances McCall Rosenbluth
Damon Wells Professor of Political Science
Director, Program on Ethics, Politics, and Economics

frances.rosenbluth@yale.edu
203-432-5256
http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/frances-mccall-rosenbluth
Japan, Transregional

Religious Studies

Eric Greene's picture Eric Greene
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

eric.greene@yale.edu
203-432-4857
http://religiousstudies.yale.edu/people/eric-greene
China, Transregional, South Asia
Hwansoo Kim's picture Hwansoo Kim
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
On leave: Fall 2019
hwansoo.kim@yale.edu
https://religiousstudies.yale.edu/people/hwansoo-kim
Korea

Richard U. Light Fellowship

John Park's picture John Park
Light Fellowship Director

jj.park@yale.edu
https://light.yale.edu/about/staff-executive-committee

Sociology

Deborah Davis's picture Deborah Davis
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

deborah.davis@yale.edu
203-432-3327
http://sociology.yale.edu/people/deborah-davis
China

Yale University Art Gallery

Denise Leidy's picture Denise Leidy
Ruth and Bruce Dayton Curator of Asian Art
Head of the Department of Asian Art

denise.leidy@yale.edu
203-432-6889
http://artgallery.yale.edu/asian-art
China
Sadako Ohki's picture Sadako Ohki
The Japan Foundation Associate Curator of Japanese Art

sadako.ohki@yale.edu
203-432-6955
http://artgallery.yale.edu/asian-art
Japan

Yale-China Association

David Youtz's picture David Youtz
President

david.youtz@yale.edu
203-432-0884
http://www.yalechina.org/about/staff
China