Council Members

Anthropology

William Honeychurch's picture William Honeychurch
Associate Professor of Anthropology

william.honeychurch@yale.edu
(203) 432-3676
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/william-honeychurch
Transregional, Mongolia
William Kelly's picture William Kelly
Professor of Anthropology and Sumitomo Professor of Japanese Studies, Emeritus

william.kelly@yale.edu
203-432-3688
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/william-w-kelly
Japan
Helen Siu's picture Helen Siu
Professor of Anthropology
On leave: Fall 2018
helen.siu@yale.edu
203-432-3680
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/helen-siu
China, Transregional
Anne Underhill's picture Anne Underhill
Professor of Anthropology
Chair, Anthropology

anne.underhill@yale.edu
203-436-4258
http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/anne-underhill
China, Transregional

Center for International & Professional Experience

Kelly McLaughlin's picture Kelly McLaughlin
Director, Study Abroad
Deputy Director of the Center for International and Professional Experience

kelly.mclaughlin@yale.edu
203-432-8740
http://studyabroad.yale.edu/contact-connect/about-us
China, Japan, Korea, Transregional

Comparative Literature

Jing Tsu's picture Jing Tsu
Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures and Comparative Literature
Chair, Council on East Asian Studies

jing.tsu@yale.edu
203-432-2861
http://eall.yale.edu/people/jing-tsu
China

Divinity School

Chloe Starr's picture Chloe Starr
Associate Professor of Asian Christianity and Theology
On leave: Fall 2018
chloe.starr@yale.edu
http://divinity.yale.edu/faculty-and-research/yds-faculty/chlo-starr
China, Transregional, Southeast Asia

East Asia Library–Sterling Memorial Library

Michael Meng's picture Michael Meng
Librarian for Chinese Studies

michael.meng@yale.edu
203-432-4438
http://guides.library.yale.edu/profile.php?uid=77595
China
Haruko Nakamura's picture Haruko Nakamura
Librarian for Japanese Studies

haruko.nakamura@yale.edu
203-432-1792
http://guides.library.yale.edu/profile.php?uid=4954
Japan

East Asian Languages & Literatures

Lucas Bender's picture Lucas Bender
Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
On leave: Spring 2019
luke.bender@yale.edu
203-432-5823
http://eall.yale.edu/people/lucas-bender
China
Hsiu-hsien Chan's picture Hsiu-hsien Chan
Senior Lector

hsiu-hsien.chan@yale.edu
203-436-8126
http://eall.yale.edu/people/hsiu-hsien-chan
China
Kang-I Chang's picture Kang-I Chang
Malcolm G. Chace '56 Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
On leave: Spring 2019
kang-i.chang@yale.edu
203-432-2865
http://eall.yale.edu/people/kang-i-chang
China
Min Chen's picture Min Chen
Senior Lector

m.chen@yale.edu
203-436-8127
http://eall.yale.edu/people/min-chen
China
Seungja Choi's picture Seungja Choi
Senior Lector II

seungja.choi@yale.edu
203-432-2866
http://eall.yale.edu/people/seungja-choi
Korea
Aaron Gerow's picture Aaron Gerow
Professor of Film Studies and East Asian Languages & Literatures

aaron.gerow@yale.edu
203-432-7082
http://eall.yale.edu/people/aaron-gerow
Japan
Koichi Hiroe's picture Koichi Hiroe
Senior Lector

koichi.hiroe@yale.edu
203-432-2940
http://eall.yale.edu/people/koichi-hiroe
Japan
Michael Hunter's picture Michael Hunter
Associate Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
On leave: AY 2018-2019
mick.hunter@yale.edu
203-432-7529
http://eall.yale.edu/people/michael-hunter
China
Seth Jacobowitz's picture Seth Jacobowitz
Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures

seth.jacobowitz@yale.edu
203-432-9840
http://eall.yale.edu/people/seth-jacobowitz
Japan, Transregional
Edward Kamens's picture Edward Kamens
Sumitomo Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
DGS, East Asian Languages & Literatures

edward.kamens@yale.edu
203-432-2862
http://eall.yale.edu/people/edward-kamens
Japan
Zhengguo Kang's picture Zhengguo Kang
Senior Lector Emeritus

zhengguo.kang@yale.edu
China
Angela Lee-Smith's picture Angela Lee-Smith
Senior Lector II

angela.lee-smith@yale.edu
203-432-4114
http://eall.yale.edu/people/angela-lee-smith
Korea
Rongzhen Li's picture Rongzhen Li
Senior Lector

rongzhen.li@yale.edu
203-432-2935
http://eall.yale.edu/people/rongzhen-li
China
Ninghui Liang's picture Ninghui Liang
Senior Lector

ninghui.liang@yale.edu
203-432-2939
http://eall.yale.edu/people/ninghui-liang
China
Pauline Lin's picture Pauline Lin
Senior Lecturer
DUS, East Asian Languages & Literatures

pauline.lin@yale.edu
203-432-2938
http://eall.yale.edu/people/pauline-lin
China
Fan Liu's picture Fan Liu
Senior Lector

fan.liu@yale.edu
203-436-8124
http://eall.yale.edu/people/fan-liu
China
Tina Lu's picture Tina Lu
Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures
Chair, East Asian Languages & Literatures

tina.lu@yale.edu
203-432-2867
http://eall.yale.edu/people/tina-lu
China
Yoshiko Maruyama's picture Yoshiko Maruyama
Senior Lector

yoshiko.maruyama@yale.edu
203-432-8688
http://eall.yale.edu/people/yoshiko-maruyama
Japan
Ling Mu's picture Ling Mu
Senior Lector Emeritus

ling.mu@yale.edu
2032342908
http://eall.yale.edu/people/ling-mu
China
Michiaki Murata's picture Michiaki Murata
Senior Lector

michiaki.murata@yale.edu
203-432-8609
http://eall.yale.edu/people/michiaki-murata
Japan
Hiroyo Nishimura's picture Hiroyo Nishimura
Senior Lector

hiroyo.nishimura@yale.edu
203-432-2943
http://eall.yale.edu/people/hiroyo-nishimura
Japan
Aoi Saito's picture Aoi Saito
Lector

aoi.saito@yale.edu
203-432-3210
http://eall.yale.edu/people/aoi-saito
Japan
Yu-Lin Saussy's picture Yu-Lin Saussy
Senior Lector

yu-lin.saussy@yale.edu
203-432-8390
http://eall.yale.edu/people/yu-lin-saussy
China
Masahiko Seto's picture Masahiko Seto
Senior Lector

masahiko.seto@yale.edu
203-432-8627
http://eall.yale.edu/people/masahiko-seto
Japan
Jianhua Shen's picture Jianhua Shen
Senior Lector

jianhua.shen@yale.edu
203-432-1726
http://eall.yale.edu/people/jianhua-shen
China
Koichi Shinohara's picture Koichi Shinohara
Senior Lecturer of Religious Studies and East Asian Languages & Literatures, Retired

koichi.shinohara@yale.edu
203-432-0839
China, Transregional
Mari Stever's picture Mari Stever
Senior Lector

mari.stever@yale.edu
203-432-2941
http://eall.yale.edu/people/mari-stever
Japan
Wei Su's picture Wei Su
Senior Lector

wei.su@yale.edu
203-432-8448
http://eall.yale.edu/people/wei-su
China
Chuanmei Sun's picture Chuanmei Sun
Senior Lector

chuanmei.sun@yale.edu
203-436-8393
http://eall.yale.edu/people/chuanmei-sun
China
John Treat's picture John Treat
Professor Emeritus of East Asian Languages & Literatures

john.treat@yale.edu
203-432-2864
http://eall.yale.edu/people/john-treat
Japan, Korea, Transregional
Jing Tsu's picture Jing Tsu
Professor of East Asian Languages & Literatures and Comparative Literature
Chair, Council on East Asian Studies

jing.tsu@yale.edu
203-432-2861
http://eall.yale.edu/people/jing-tsu
China
Haiwen Wang's picture Haiwen Wang
Senior Lector

haiwen.wang@yale.edu
203-436-8125
http://eall.yale.edu/people/haiwen-wang
China
Peisong Xu's picture Peisong Xu
Senior Lector

peisong.xu@yale.edu
203-432-8509
http://eall.yale.edu/people/peisong-xu
China
Yongtao Zhang's picture Yongtao Zhang
Senior Lector

yongtao.zhang@yale.edu
http://eall.yale.edu/people/yongtao-zhang
China
William Zhou's picture William Zhou
Senior Lector

william.zhou@yale.edu
203-432-8852
http://eall.yale.edu/people/william-zhou
China

Economics

Koichi Hamada's picture Koichi Hamada
Tuntex Emeritus Professor of Economics

koichi.hamada@yale.edu
203-432-3898
http://economics.yale.edu/people/koichi-hamada
Japan, Transregional

Film and Media Studies

Aaron Gerow's picture Aaron Gerow
Professor of Film Studies and East Asian Languages & Literatures

aaron.gerow@yale.edu
203-432-7082
http://eall.yale.edu/people/aaron-gerow
Japan

History

Beatrice Bartlett's picture Beatrice Bartlett
Professor of History Emeritus

beatrice.bartlett@yale.edu
203-432-0230
http://history.yale.edu/people/beatrice-s-bartlett
China
Daniel Botsman's picture Daniel Botsman
Professor of History
On leave: Spring 2019
daniel.botsman@yale.edu
203-436-5209
http://history.yale.edu/people/daniel-botsman
Japan
Annping Chin's picture Annping Chin
Senior Lecturer in History, Retired

annping.chin@yale.edu
203-436-2514
http://history.yale.edu/people/annping-chin
China
Fabian Drixler's picture Fabian Drixler
Professor of History
On leave: Fall 2018
fabian.drixler@yale.edu
203-432-1388
http://history.yale.edu/people/fabian-drixler
Japan
Valerie Hansen's picture Valerie Hansen
Stanley Woodward Professor of History
On leave: Fall 2018
valerie.hansen@yale.edu
203-432-0480
http://history.yale.edu/people/valerie-hansen
China
Denise Ho's picture Denise Ho
Assistant Professor of History
On leave: AY 2018-2019
denise.ho@yale.edu
203-436-9291
http://history.yale.edu/people/denise-ho
China
Peter Perdue's picture Peter Perdue
Professor of History
On leave: Spring 2019
peter.c.perdue@yale.edu
+1 (203) 432-6145
http://history.yale.edu/people/peter-c-perdue
China, Transregional
Jonathan Spence's picture Jonathan Spence
Sterling Professor of History Emeritus

jonathan.spence@yale.edu
203-432-0759
http://history.yale.edu/people/jonathan-spence
China
Conrad Totman's picture Conrad Totman
Professor of History Emeritus

conrad.totman@yale.edu
http://history.yale.edu/people/conrad-totman
Japan

History of Art

Richard Barnhart's picture Richard Barnhart
John M. Schiff Professor Emeritus, History of Art

richard.barnhart@yale.edu
203-432-2667
http://arthistory.yale.edu/people/richard-barnhart
China
Mimi Yiengpruksawan's picture Mimi Yiengpruksawan
Professor, History of Art

mimi.yiengpruksawan@yale.edu
203-432-2682
http://arthistory.yale.edu/people/melanie-yiengpruksawan
Japan, Transregional

History of Science & Medicine

William Summers's picture William Summers
Professor Emeritus of Therapeutic Radiology, Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, and the History of Medicine

william.summers@yale.edu
203-432-5585
http://hshm.yale.edu/people/william-summers
China, Transregional

Political Science

Daniel Mattingly's picture Daniel Mattingly
Assistant Professor of Political Science
On leave: Spring 2019
daniel.mattingly@yale.edu
http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/daniel-mattingly
China
Frances McCall Rosenbluth's picture Frances McCall Rosenbluth
Damon Wells Professor of Political Science
DUS, East Asian Studies

frances.rosenbluth@yale.edu
203-432-5256
http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/frances-mccall-rosenbluth
Japan, Transregional

Religious Studies

Eric Greene's picture Eric Greene
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

eric.greene@yale.edu
203-432-4857
http://religiousstudies.yale.edu/people/eric-greene
China, Transregional, South Asia
Hwansoo Kim's picture Hwansoo Kim
Associate Professor of Religious Studies

hwansoo.kim@yale.edu
Korea
Koichi Shinohara's picture Koichi Shinohara
Senior Lecturer of Religious Studies and East Asian Languages & Literatures, Retired

koichi.shinohara@yale.edu
203-432-0839
China, Transregional

Richard U. Light Fellowship

Robert Clough's picture Robert Clough
Light Fellowship Director

r.clough@yale.edu
203-432-8675
http://light.yale.edu/about/staff-executive-committee
China, Japan, Korea, Transregional

Sociology

Deborah Davis's picture Deborah Davis
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

deborah.davis@yale.edu
203-432-3327
http://sociology.yale.edu/people/deborah-davis
China

Yale University Art Gallery

Denise Leidy's picture Denise Leidy
Ruth and Bruce Dayton Curator of Asian Art
Head of the Department of Asian Art

denise.leidy@yale.edu
203-432-6889
http://artgallery.yale.edu/asian-art
China
Sadako Ohki's picture Sadako Ohki
The Japan Foundation Associate Curator of Japanese Art

sadako.ohki@yale.edu
203-432-6955
http://artgallery.yale.edu/asian-art
Japan

Yale-China Association

David Youtz's picture David Youtz
Executive Director

david.youtz@yale.edu
203-432-0884
http://www.yalechina.org/about/staff
China